IDSA Pledges Support to New GAIA-X Leadership Team

Mar 17, 2021 | News

The International Data Spaces Association (IDSA) announced its continued commitment to GAIA-X AISBL as it moves forward with its newly appointed leadership team. GAIA-X recently announced that distinguished technology leaders Francesco Bonfiglio and Pierre Gronlier will take the helm as CEO and CTO of GAIA-X, replacing Hubert Tardieu and Boris Otto, who have been acting in those capacities up to this point.  

Lars Nagel, CEO of IDSA and Boris Otto will work closely with the new GAIA-X leadership team to continue accelerating the growth of GAIA-X’s technology from the IDSA side.

“We are very pleased to see GAIA-X succeed to the point where it is ready to take this critical next step toward making its platform for a sovereign data ecosystem a reality,” said Lars Nagel. “Francesco and Pierre bring the ideal combination of leadership, experience, energy and vision to take GAIA-X to the next level. As a long-time partner in GAIA-X, our organization is committed to bring in our expertise and enlarge the adoption speed. Together, we will continue to shape the future of Europe’s data economy for the benefit of all of society.”

„Pierre Gronlier has now started as full-time CTO for GAIA-X. Transition of my interim responsibility to him is in full swing, and I am more than happy to keep collaborating with Pierre in the future and remain fully committed to the GAIA-X mission”, says Boris Otto, Executive Director at Fraunhofer Institute for Software and Systems Engineering (ISST) and Deputy Chairman of the IDSA.

Pierre Gronlier has had more than a decade of experience operationalizing and scaling systems in the field of real-time communication and cloud services. Prior to GAIA-X, he held roles at Skype and Microsoft in Estonia and at OVHcloud in France. While at GAIA-X, he has been involved in the development of the group’s first prototypes and chairs the GAIA-X technical committee.

Francesco Bonfiglio brings more than 30 years of experience in the IT sector, including executive roles in large, multinational companies that include Engineering, Hewlett Packard, Avanade, Unisys and Rational Software, independent advisory roles in boards and start-ups, and a co-founding position in, an AI-centric Startup Studio. 

Hubert Tardieu will continue to serve as chairman and Thomas Hahn will serve as  vice chairman of GAIA-X. The new leadership team will also be supported by the interim bureau and board of directors.

Members of the interim bureau are Servane Augier (3DS OUTSCALE), Jean-François Cases (Amadeus SAS), Martine Gouriet (EDF), Lars Nagel (International Data Spaces Association), Dr Boris Otto (Fraunhofer), Nik Scharmann (ROBERT BOSCH GmbH), Alban Schmutz (OVHcloud), Olivier Senot (DOCAPOSTE SAS), Harald Summa (DE-CIX) and Sebastian Schlosser (BMW Group).

Members of the board of directors are Maximilian Ahrens (T-Systems), Servane Augier (3DS OUTSCALE), Fabian Biegel (SAP SE), Jean-Francois Cases (Amadeus SAS), Odile Gauthier (IMT), Marco Goergmaier (BMW Group), Martine Gouriet (Électricité de France (EDF)), Thomas Hahn (SIEMENS AG), Gerd Hoppe (BECKHOFF AUTOMATION GmbH & Co. KG), Michael Jochem (ROBERT BOSCH GmbH), Yann Lechelle (Scaleway), Oliver Mauss (PlusServer GmbH), Francisco Mingorance (CISPE), Lars Nagel (International Data Space Association), Cedric Prevost (Orange), Prof. Dr. Boris Otto (Fraunhofer ISST), Sebastian Ritz (Innovo Cloud), Alban Schmutz (OVHcloud), Olivier Senot (DOCAPOSTE SAS), Harald Summa (DE-CIX), Hubert Tardieu (Atos SE), Pascal Vaillant (Safran).

Stay updated with us